Selectors retain same squad for remaining Tests vs England

Seasoned opener Gautam Gambhir, who was released from the India squad ahead of the second cricket Test, was on Tuesday dropped as the selectors retained the same squad for the remaining three matches of the five-Test rubber against England.

Gambhir, who managed just 29 and 0 in the first game against England at Rajkot, was released from the squad just before the second Test once Karnataka batsman Lokesh Rahul returned after recovering from a hamstring injury.

Watch : Sehwag with WWE Superstars | Dolph & Charlotte

Barring the southpaw, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selectors decided to retain the same squad under skipper Virat Kohli, who won the second Test by 246 runs on Monday.

Already 1-0 up in the series, India will now take on England in the third Test at Mohali from Saturday followed by the last two Tests respectively in Mumbai (from December 8 to 12) and Chennai (December 16 to 20).

Also Read : Sehwag to host web series ‘Viru Ke Funde’

Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Karun Nair, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Amit Mishra, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya.



Selectors retain same squad for remaining Tests vs England

About The Author

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>